A Sondre High…

I’m on a Sondre high. It’s kinda like a sugar high, but way better for you. At the very least, healthier…maybe.

Last night met up with EddieBobby to see Sondre Lerche at the Bowery Ballroom, which you may have already known if you read yesterday’s blog. First off, I can now say I’ve been to the Bowery Ballroom. It’s a pretty legendary place around NYC when it comes to seeing bands. I’ve been to just about every venue in NYC at least once, I think, but never Bowery, which is weird, right?

It’s a nice small to mid-sized venue, great for acoustic type performances, which was perfect for Sondre. Having never seen Sondre before and only hearing him backed by a full band, I wasn’t sure how his songs would translate to an acoustic setting.

First off, Sondre’s a charmer. He knew exactly how to work the crowd and set up his songs. Being Norwegian born, he used that “English is my second language, but I’m totally a resident New Yorker” vibe to his favor. It worked flawlessly. Plus, I’ve always been a fan of witty stage banter, as it keeps the crowed engaged.

Then of course there was the music. His voice was incredibly strong, such a beautiful tone to it, with notable range. Sondre’s part rockstar, part crooner, and part folk singer rolled into one, which gives him a unique sound. He played a nice mix of older and newer tracks, plus some tracks from the “Dan in Real Life” soundtrack. His guitar playing was impressive. Like I said, being accustomed to only hearing Sondre backed by a full band, I wasn’t sure how the songs would work with just an acoustic guitar. He reworked them perfectly, in fact, I think acoustic suited him better as it allowed his vocals to really shine.

Unfortunately, I’m not that knowledgeable on the track names to provide a set list. Hopefully EddieBobby can provide details later on. I know he (EddieBobby) was pretty happy with the set selection and encore, even though he was a bit bummed Sondre didn’t play “You Know So Well.” From what I hear, Sondre not playing “You Know So Well” is like going to a Kelly Clarkson concert and not hearing “Since You’ve Been Gone.”

When put in that specific context, I completely understand his disappointment. But EddieBobby wasn’t bummed for long as we totally chatted up Sondre post show about his performance and his merchandise. All in all, it was a fun night, even though I’m hungover on a Wednesday. Ugh.

Check out my concert pictures at: Flickr

Videos taken from my phone (LQ):

Leave a Reply

