“I Drink Your Milkshake…”

There’s been plenty of buzz around Paul Thomas Anderson’s movie “There Will Be Blood,” thanks to Daniel Day Lewis’ performance as well as PT’s cinematic vision. However, I bet no one expected the attention generated from a simple exhange between two characters. Even though I haven’t seen the movie (it’s on my “must see list), I’m fully aware of the “I Drink Your Milkshake” phenomenon and have even watched the clip on youtube.

Paramount Vantage embraced the cult love of “I Drink Your Milkshake” and decided to take it mainstream by sending free milkshakes to press as a promotional tool. Pretty slick, take a look here.

The catchphrase also spawned it’s own website where you can discuss not only the infamous quote, but the entire film, PT Anderson, characters, etc.

I’m quite sure there’s other stories being written about it, but I can’t help but wonder what PT Anderson thinks about his masterpiece being reduced to a simple catchphrase “I Drink Your Milkshake…?

Leave a Reply

