Pay it Forward: Relationship Blogging…

I was originally going to make this a fun post and title it “Most Adorable Human Being Award,” an honor bestowed on Michael Denton. As I finished typing it up, I realized there was a deeper message here, rather than just some fun for the day.Mr. Denton just returned from a 2 week vacation in Cambodia and blogged about the Starbucks giftcard I sent him as a birthday present. He took a snapshot of himself enjoying a coffee purchased with the gift (see below). So, naturally I wanted to return the favor and have some fun with it.

I started thinking about the influence of blogs in a greater sense – and what we’re striving for in this space. For me, it’s to build relationships (whether online, in-person, or a combination of the two.) It’s about establishing a community, a dialogue, and continuing to grow both of those things through open communication.

Denton and I have become good friends over the last year or so. We’ve hung out quite a bit, but sometimes our busy lives get in the way and we can go weeks without seeing each other. I was unable to attend his birthday/return home party, but wanted him to know I was thinking of him. He returned the favor by blogging about it and now I’m continuing that effort. Don’t you just love the blogsphere? I do.

Check out Denton’s blog here. (and be sure to read his other posts too!)If you have a blog — pay it forward. Write a quick post about a friend of yours that you’re thinking of today. Don’t worry, I won’t meme tag anyone (that can be annoying!)

Denton enjoying a cup o’ joe:2328319509_33987619c8_o-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

