Nike+ Sportband…

Rarely do I promote products on this blog, but I can’t help it today as I’m overly excited about the new Nike+ Sportband option. This is Nike’s newest addition to the Nike+ system, which is a line of products geared to help runners track progress by calculating distance, time, and calories burned. Previously, Nike+ system had to be used with an iPod nano, which I happen to have, but it frustrated me that it was the only option.

Looks like Nike finally realized there’s a bigger market out there who would willingly use their product if it wasn’t tied down to an iPod. That’s where the SportBand comes into play. I believe it still works with the same Nike+ sensor, which I currently own, and it transmits your run data to the band (as opposed to your iPod. The Sportband also has a USB connection, so you can plug it right into your computer after a run and upload your information to keep track of your progress.

I know there’s been online chatter when Nike+ first debuted about inaccuracies with run distances, but I have to say, I find the product to be quite accurate (I’ve driven my daily runs and came up with close/exact distances). Kudos to Nike for making a solid product. Can’t wait to get my hands on a Nike+ Sportband.

Nike marketing/PR team, if you’re reading — hook me up! 😉

2 responses to “Nike+ Sportband…

  1. I have seen the Nike+ Sportband. It’s pretty neat because you can also put the chip in certain Nike running shoes.

    You should also check out the Garmin Forerunner 405. If you are not familiar with it, it is a watch with a touch scrolling dial that functions similarly to an iPod. The Forerunner 405 continuously monitors your distance, time, pace, calories, and heart rate. It has GPS , and once you are within the required distance, all of your data can be transferred to your computer wirelessly. Think that’s amazing?! There’s more…you can choose between two colors: black and green!

    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=11039&locale=en_US

  2. Ap, Garmin Forerunner looks cool — I like the heart rate option!

Leave a Reply

