5 Words for Friday…

The five words that are tossed around relentlessly in my profession that I’ve grown to hate, yet am forced to integrate (just missed the cut) into my vocab on a daily basis. Really, there’s nothing revolting about these words/phrases rather it all comes down to the context in which they are used.

1. Leverage – this is hoity-toity marketing speak for “use”. Why can’t we just say use anymore?

2. Assets – can we be more vague? What are our assets? Most days this consists of news, video, and/or images. I know – annoying right?

3. Loop – Most commonly used as a verb: “I’ll loop you in,” which loosely translates to “I don’t feel like doing this work, so I’ll be sure to pass it off to you in front of others so you can’t decline.”

4. Case Study – Everything is considered a case study – but rarely is any thing a TRUE case study. However, I’ve affectionately come to refer to the dreaded case study as – CS.

5. Thanks so much – Most commonly used as a reply to the “I’ll loop you in” comment. It’s drenched in sarcasm and dripping with disdain, but still seems civil in tone, unless your recipient is wise to you.

4 responses to “5 Words for Friday…

  1. Wow, you summed up my entire professional life in 5 phrases! It couldn’t be that bad, we are in PR afterall — or should I say Social Media, Digital Communications, Viral Marketing, Word of Mouth Marketing, Online Editorial Outreach — just saying 🙂

  2. As a follow-up, I counted the amount of times I said Thanks so much and Case Study today… you wouldn’t believe the number. My saving grace is that I actually mean it when I say Thanks so much, I truly appreciate the work everyone is doing! 🙂

  3. best. post. ever.

    i would only add “moving forward”

  4. Leverage is a noun, always has been. There should be a substitute word for this, but we don’t have a good one. Exploit? Too negative. Use? Too boring.

    The one I hate more is utilize, which is what people replace “use” for when they want to sound smarter, but aren’t.

    I do like assets. It’s not as vague as “things,” and really invokes the classic movie line from Princess Bride, Westley “Well, why didn’t you list that among our assets in the first place?”

    I utilize it all the time.

Leave a Reply

