Nashville Fun…

So this site has been pretty dead lately, but with good reason, I was away! My friend and I took a little roadtrip to Nashville. The common question is “Why Nashville?” My answer — not sure, I’ve always wanted to see it besides I’m slightly obsessed with GAC and CMT channels as of late.

We packed up my car and drove the insane 14+ hours to see what Nashville had to offer. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was just enough city life for me not to go crazy, but balanced with relaxation. Plus, there’s the fact that at any given hour of the day (or night) you can walk into a bar and see a pretty kick ass band or singer-songwriter tear up a stage. NYC has great music, but it’s pretty pretentious – in Nashville there’s rarely a cover charge, musicians just ask that you kick in a few dollars after their show – or even better give them $5+ and have them sing a song of your choosing on the spot. Seriously.

So visiting Nashville was a first in itself, but other highlights included eating at a Sonic. This is a BIG deal. They play commercials all the time here about Sonics, but you can’t find one around here. I’m hooked. Other food highlights: pulled pork, potato salad, and mac n cheese courtesy of the NEELY’s BBQ, biscuits and gravy from Loveless Cafe, and the most AMAZING latte from Provence.

Also experienced the Grand Ole Opry for the first time, which included seeing Rascal Flatts perform among other country/bluegrass legends like Little Jimmy Dickens and Ricky Skaggs. The Grand Ole Opry is grand for sure — it’s one of the most beautiful venues I’ve ever been in and when you factor in the TALENT that has crossed the stage and legacy of it all, it’s hard not to get choked up. We also checked out the Country Music Hall of Fame – so cool!

The only scary part about the trip (not just Nashville) is the bible belt. I mean, I’m not an overly religious person, but I am spiritual. Driving from NYC to Nashville (especially through W. Va and VA) proved to be an eye-opening experience. We’re talking crosses EVERYWHERE. Sadly, it became our entertainment – to count the crosses we spotted along the way.

Here are some photo highlights:

7 responses to “Nashville Fun…

  1. Pingback: Nashville Fun…

  2. First of all, totally jealous about Sonic!! Second, my boyfriend’s mother has been to the Loveless Cafe and loved it. Now she gets us the biscuit mix they sell sometimes for Christmas/birthday gifts, it’s pretty great!

  3. Sandy – I bought the biscuit mix and of course the jam. YUM!!

  4. Tater tots with cheese are heaven, with a cherry lime slush to wash it down. Maybe we can go for a long weekend, via Jet Blue over the summer…when I have summer fridays!

  5. Um.. I’m in. Don’t tease me! We are going.

  6. Doooood…I realize I am way behind here, but what say you about NYE in Nashvegas? I’ll be there. I’m wearing boots.

  7. Um.. NYE in Nashvegas sounds amazing — I’m going to start rounding up the troops. I still want the Kait tour.

Leave a Reply

